Mantras for Chakra Meditation

The knowledge of Mantras for Chakra Meditation is important for a practitioner experimenting with energy healing or meditation. Chakras are the energy vortices in our bodies. There are many Chakras, but the seven chakras along the spine are called the Major Chakras.

Mantras for Chakra Meditation

Characteristics of Chakras

Each Chakra is associated with four characteristics –

  • Color
  • Shape
  • Size and
  • Sound

The first two are a part of teaching in Usui Reiki, and the others form advanced Chakra balancing and Healing training.
These characteristics determine the health condition of your body.
They also determine your relationship with the environment around you.

The Effect of Sound

Sound affects your physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual fields. Do you recall how your favorite music takes you back in time and connects you to the memories of the past? The effects of sound are long-lasting. It causes fluctuations in mood, releasing hormones and endorphins that affect our nervous systems and the sympathetic and parasympathetic response.

Importance of Chanting the Mantras

Chanting the Mantras for Chakra Meditation has a similar effect. The Chakra sounds create harmony and improve our aura. It heightens our altruistic qualities and connects us with divine experiences.
Chanting the mool-mantras (the Sanskrit syllable linked with each chakra) tends to streamline the flow of Reiki energy in the Ida and Pingala Nadis, removes all blockages, and leads to a more fulfilling life.

Practising the Sounds of Chakras

To practice Mantras for Chakra Meditation, sit in a meditative posture and bring your attention to the shape and the colour of each Chakra.
Then focus on these Chakras one by one and chant the syllable as given below in the succeeding paragraphs.
Use a natural tone that is neither too loud nor silent.
Set a cycle of a minimum of seven times each in which you inhale slowly. focusing on the Chakra; hold your breath momentarily, and exhale slowly making the associated sound.

Sounds Associated with Each Chakra

Muladhara or Root chakra.
Chant- “Lam.” (pronounced Lummmmm) It pronounced lummmmm. Its element is earth – keeps you safe and grounded. Action: I am.
Svadisthana or Sacral chakra.
Chant – “Vam”. (pronounced Vummmmm). Its element is water and represents the smooth flow. Action: I feel.
Manipura or Solar Plexus chakra.
Chant- “Ram”. (pronounced Rummmmm) Its element is fire and represents mastery. Action: I do.
Anahata or Heart chakra.
Chant – “Yam”. (pronounced Yummmmm) Its element is air and represents love. Action: I love.
Vishuddha or Throat chakra.
Chant- “Ham”. (pronounced Hummmmm). Its element is ether and represents creativity, invention, and purifying. Action: I speak.
Ajna or Third eye chakra.
Chant- “Aum”. (pronounced AaUummmmm) Its element is transcendent realms and represents a balanced and intuitive mind. Action: I see.
Sahasrara or Crown chakra.
Its Chant is soundless (no sound). The essence is that instead of chanting, we listen to the sounds of the universe.
Its element is- all that exists between and beyond ie everything and nothing. Action: I know.

Note: In some texts, you will find the sounds associated with Ajna and Sahasrara Chakras as ‘Ah’ and ‘Aum’ respectively, which is a misinterpretation as the crown chakra is the recipient and resonates with the universal energies automatically.

Remember, there is no right way or wrong way when it comes to reciting the mool Mantras for Chakra Meditation. You need to experiment with them and see what suits you and resonates with your inner awareness. Observe the effect it has on your body and mind and moderate as required. Happy chanting!

To book a LIVE practice session with Dr Prakash please click HERE.

Leave a Reply